Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Latest news

Rajiv kumar appointed as election commissioner

Rajiv Kumar , retired beaureucrat has been appointed as the new election commissioner on this Friday in the place of Ashok Lavasa, who has resigned now.

With effect of August 31 lavasa has resigned and President Ram nath kovind has cleared Kumar’s appointment with effect of his assuming office.

“In pursuance of clause (2) of Article 324 of the Constitution, the president is pleased to appoint Shri Rajiv Kumar, (IAS retired) as the election commissioner with effect from the date he assumes the office vice Shri Ashok Lavasa, election commissioner who has resigned with effect August 31,” an official notification of the Ministry of Law and Justice said.

Kumar will retire in 2025 as he has tenure of five years. He is the IAS officer of 1984 batch from Jharkhand cadre.

Written By